Research by Subject: Banned Books Week: Home

Most Challenged Books of 2023

All Boys Aren't Blue by George M. Johnson
Call Number: Juvenile Collection ; 921 J673J67 2020

ISBN: 9780374312718

Publication Date: 2020-04-28

Reason for Challenges: LGBTQIA+ content, claimed to be sexually explicit
Gender Queer: a Memoir by Maia Kobabe
Call Number: HQ76.27.Y68 K63 2019

ISBN: 9781549304002

Publication Date: 2019-05-28

Reason for Challenges: LGBTQIA+ content, claimed to be sexually explicit
The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
Call Number: Africana Studies Collection ; PS3563.O8749 B55 1993

ISBN: 9780679433736

Publication Date: 1993-12-28

Reason for Challenges: depiction of sexual assault, depiction of incest, claimed to be sexually explicit, EDI (Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion) content
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Call Number: Juvenile Collection ; 813 C5133P43 2019

ISBN: 9781982110994

Publication Date: 2019-09-24

Reason for Challenges: claimed to be sexually explicit, LGBTQIA+ content, depiction of sexual assault, depiction of drug use, profanity
Tricks by Ellen Hopkins
Call Number: 813 H793T82 2009

ISBN: 9781416950073

Publication Date: 2009-08-25

Reason for Challenges: claimed to be sexually explicit
Looking for Alaska by John Green
Call Number: Juvenile Collection ; 813 G796L86 2005

ISBN: 9780525475064

Publication Date: 2005-03-03

Reason for Challenges: claimed to be sexually explicit
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (Revised Edition) by Jesse Andrews
Call Number: Juvenile Collection ; 813 A567M47 2012

ISBN: 9781419719608

Publication Date: 2015-04-21

Reason for Challenges: claimed to be sexually explicit, profanity
Crank by Ellen Hopkins
Call Number: Juvenile Collection ; 813 H793C89 2004

ISBN: 9780689865190

Publication Date: 2004-10-01

Reason for Challenges: claimed to be sexually explicit, depiction of drug use

Sold by Patricia McCormick
Reason for Challenges: claimed to be sexually explicit, depiction of sexual assault

Flamer by Mike Curato (Illustrator)
Call Number: Comic Arts ; PN6727.C86 F53 2020

ISBN: 9781627796415

Publication Date: 2020-09-01

Reason for Challenges: LGBTQIA+ content, claimed to be sexually explicit

SDSU Library Recommendations

The kite runner
Hosseini, Khaled, author
New York : Riverhead Books, 2003 - 2003

And Tango makes three
Richardson, Justin, 1963- author
New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2005 - 2005

Maus : a survivor's tale
Spiegelman, Art, author, artist
New York : Pantheon Books, 1997

The curious incident of the dog in the night-time
Haddon, Mark, 1962- author
New York : Doubleday, 2003

Drama
Telgemeier, Raina, author, artist
New York : Graphix/Scholastic, 2012

Fun home : a family tragicomic
Bechdel, Alison, 1960- author, artist
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2007 - 2006

Oryx and Crake : a novel
Atwood, Margaret, 1939-
New York : Nan A. Talese, 2003

Lawn boy
Evison, Jonathan, author
Waterville, Maine : Wheeler Publishing, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2018 - 2018

Flamer
Curato, Mike, author, illustrator
New York : Henry Holt and Company, 2020

SDSU Library Collections

Banned Books at SDSU

Media

50 Years of Intellectual Freedom (American Libraries Magazine)
Here Is What Parents Think Of Book Bans: Everylibrary & Book Riot Survey Results (Book Riot) 2023 survey of parent views on public libraries and book challenges conducted by the EveryLibrary Institute and Book Riot.
American Library Association Banned Books Site
Banned Books Week
National Coalition Against Censorship
Action Toolkit (Unite Against Book Bans)
Freedom to Read Foundation

Banned Books Week: Home

Resources

Most Challenged Books of 2023

SDSU Library Recommendations

SDSU Library Collections

Media