Zotero: Citation Management

Zotero's citation plugin will not work in SDSU MS 365 accounts. Only approved plugins are available to students. However it can be used in personal Office 365 accounts as well as the desktop version of Office. 

You can create citations and bibliographies from within Zotero:

1. Right-click the collection or individual references and select Create Bibliography from Collection 
2. Select the Citation Style (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago) from the list
3. Choose Citations or Bibliography and the Output Method (Copy to Clipboard is the most commonly used)
4. Click OK 

Another option is to use the plugin for Microsoft Word. The Zotero plugin for Word will be installed automatically when you download Zotero.  It will appear as a tab on the Word toolbar. To take full advantage of the plugin:

1. Use the Add/Edit Citation button to add in-text citations throughout the text
2. Once completed, place your cursor where you would like to add your bibliography.  Select the Add/Edit Bibliography button.  You will be able to add and edit citations and the bibliography will update automatically.   

Zotero plugin icons and what they do

Add/Edit citation		Add a new citation or edit an existing citation in your document at the cursor location.
Add/Edit bibliography		Add a new citation or edit an existing citation in your document at the cursor location.
Document preferences		Open the Document Preferences window, e.g. to change the citation style.
Refresh		Refresh all citations and the bibliography, updating any item metadata that has changed in your Zotero library.
Unlink citations		Unlink Zotero citations in the document by removing the field codes. This prevents any further automatic updates of the citations and bibliographies. Note that removing field codes is irreversible, and should usually only be done in a final copy of your document.