First Year Instruction: RWS, LING, and GEN S

1. Identify the main concept(s) of research topics or thesis statements.
2. Select OneSearch or a multi-disciplinary database like Academic Search Premier or ProQuest Research Library as a research tool 
3. Construct searches using Boolean operators, AND/OR/NOT
4. Use database filters to narrow and focus search results 

There is no magic formula for finding the best search terms and strategies to find information on your research topic.  Everyone brings their own knowledge and experience to the research process.  The article, books, and other information sources you come across will lead you in different directions depending on your assignment, prior knowledge, and your own personal interests.  

There are however several strategies that will help you to explore the different information sources available on your topic.  

Advanced Search

Whether you are using OneSearch, a library database - or even Google - you should always look for an advanced search option.  The advanced search allows you to search by field: title, author, subject, and other fields.  

Boolean Search

Advanced search also allows you to more easily perform a Boolean search.  Separating search terms by AND, OR, NOT allows you to broaden or narrow your search results.  You can do this within one search box – however the library OneSearch and most library databases have an advanced search feature that makes it even easier to construct a search.

Separating terms by:

• AND ensures that both terms are included in the search results (endangered AND birds)
• OR expands the search to include results with either term (hydropower OR solar)
• NOT eliminates specific terms from the search results (cloning NOT sheep)

Keywords, synonyms, and subject headings

When most of us do a search we use keywords - words or phrases that describe a topic.  Whether searching on Google, OneSearch, or a library database the words you use are important. Before starting your search you should come up with a small group of specific terms or phrases. Some terminology is subject specific.  You will learn some subject specific terms in your class lectures and readings, but you will learn more while doing your research.  

Another strategy for searching is to use subject terms - controlled vocabulary used for an entire topic.  Subject terms are assigned to articles and other information sources by subject specialists.  Using subject terms will give you relevant results (including synonyms) in one single search.  You can find subject terms listed within article records (see video).  Some databases also include a subject term Thesaurus that can be searched. 

Keywords: words or phrases used to describe your topic

Subject Terms: words or phrases used by the databases to describe and tag articles  

Thesaurus: a searchable list of subject terms, including synonyms, and broader and narrower terms

Search Filters

Tweak my results

Another way to focus your search is to use the search filters located on the left side of the search results under Tweak my results.  Remember to lock-in the filters you applied to the search by clicking on the padlock beside each filter or clicking on Remember all filters. You can remove these filters at any time by clicking on the X beside them.  

The Library's OneSearch is the search engine for the library collections. It searches nearly everything that we own, both physically and digitally.  Our collections include journals, magazines, newspapers, articles, books, course reserves, videos, images, and more. 

Sometimes searching using OneSearch can be overwhelming and frustrating. After all, you are searching through millions of sources. Using OneSearch is the quickest way to search the collection, but sometimes you will get better results searching the library databases directly. 

So when should you use OneSearch?

• You're doing a known item search- you have a title, author, publisher, ISBN, or ISSN
• You’re not sure which database to start with, want to get a feeling for what’s out there
• You have very specific search parameters, and you want to bring up as many search results as possible

How to choose a database

A library database is an online, searchable collection of information.  SDSU library subscribes to over 400 databases!  You can search the databases through OneSearch, however sometimes it will be more effective to search a database directly. 

From the library homepage you can get to the A to Z list of Databases by:

• Hovering over Find on the top tool bar and selecting Journals & Databases
• From there you can use the dropdown menus to filter the databases by Subject, Type, or Vendor/Provider
• You can also search the databases by keyword.  Watch the video below for a brief demonstration.  

If you are just beginning your research, start with a multidisciplinary database like Academic Search Premier or ProQuest Research Library.  You can also go to the dropdown menu for All Database Types and select Beginning Researcher.  

Another way to create a search is to use the PICO method.  This method come from the health sciences, but it can be used as a way to think about different aspects of a topic in other disciplines as well. 

Here are some examples of using the PICO method to build a search: 

Example 1:

Would raising the minimum wage narrow the gender wage gap?

Example 2: 

Would housing first programs lead to a greater reduction in homelessness than the more traditional housing readiness programs? 

*For research in the health sciences, refer students to this in-depth guide to PICO Searching created by Health Sciences Librarian Margaret Henderson