E-resources include databases, websites, e-journals, and e-books that are accessed through OneSearch, the A-Z Databases List, Research Guides, etc.
SDSU Special Collections
These entries describe historical primary source collections available for research in Special Collections & University Archives at the SDSU Library. The Department of Special Collections & University Archives (SCUA) houses rare, fine, unique, and valuable books, periodicals, manuscripts, and documents that require preservation, security, and care in handling. SCUA holds over 80,000 printed volumes, more than 600 manuscript and archival collections, 800 linear feet of university records, numerous graphic and ephemera collections, and over 100,000 floppy comics.
Our collections are available for research to San Diego State University students, faculty, staff, and the general public; no affiliation with San Diego State is required. Collections do not circulate outside of the department and are consulted in our Reading Room located on the first floor of Love Library.
The Finding Aid Database provides access to a growing number of finding aids for archival and manuscript collections at San Diego State University's Special Collections & University Archives. Finding aids describe the contents of individual collections, including unpublished primary sources such as correspondence, diaries, maps, university records, organizational records, photographs, and audio recordings. Due to the nature of historical materials, some collections may contain documents with harmful or offensive language. Older finding aid descriptions, which were written in specific historical contexts, may also use similar language. Special Collections staff is working to update metadata to respectfully and accurately describe creators and subjects, especially those who are minoritized and/or racialized. We welcome feedback.
The library continually digitizes unique collections of photographs, newspapers, posters, postcards and other paper-based and audio/visual resources. You may search the entire database using keyword(s) or browse individual collections.