Skip to Main Content

Colección Chicana

History

The Chicana/o Collection was established in 1970 and held in the Chicano Studies Center where it supported the emerging field of Chicano Studies. This collection was comprised of books, pamphlets, clippings and other ephemera documenting Chicano history and culture. It supported research in areas such as Chicano literature, sociology, history, and other disciplines. In 1979 the collection was moved to the Love Library due to funding and space issues. The collection lived on one of the upper floor of Love Library before being moved again in 2018. Its' current home is in the space in front of SDSU Special Collections and University Archives and the Latinx Resource Center on the first floor of Love Library. Click here for maps of the library.


La Colección Chicana fue creada en 1970 y fue ubicada en el Centro de Estudios Chicanos para apoyar el área emergente de Estudios Chicanos. La colección contenía libros, folletos, recortes de periódico, y otros recuerdos que documentaron la historia y cultura Chicana. Apoyaba áreas de investigación como la literatura, sociología, historia y otras disciplinas, En 1979, la colección fue movida a la Biblioteca Love debido a problemas de espacio y financiamento. Vivió en uno de los pisos superiores de la biblioteca durante los 80s y 90s antes de ser movida otra vez en 2018. Actualmente, la colección se encuentra en frente del departemento de Colecciónes Especiales y Archivos Universitarios de SDSU e el Centro de Recursos Latinx en el primer piso de la Biblioteca Love. Haga click aquí para ver mapas de la biblioteca.

 

 

Guide created and written by Erika Esquivel. Managed by Maria Amor.

Browsing the Collection / Explorando la colección

The collection is browsable in-person however, follow the instructions below if you'd like to browse virtually.

  • Enter search term below, for example, "education"
  • Click 'Search'
  • On the results page, locate filters on left hand side of page
  • Scroll down to 'Location' and select 'Colección Chicana'

 

Se puede visitar la colección en persona, pero si le gustaria navegar titulos en linea, siga las instrucciones por debajo. 

  • Escribe tu término de búsqueda en la caja por debajo, por ejemplo, "educación"
  • Cliquea 'Busqueda'
  • En la pagina de los resultados, ubica los filtros al lado izquierdo de la pagina
  • Debajo del filtro de 'Location', seleciona 'Colección Chicana'