Skip to main content

Research Data Management Services @SDSU

Tools and services to help you manage your research data

Biological & Life Sciences

  • Biological General Repository for Interaction Datasets (BioGRID) An online repository of protein and genetic interactions from humans and major model organism species, including Saccharomyces cerevisiae, Caenorhabditis elegans, Drosophila melanogaster, and Schizosaccharomyces pombe. See information on submitting data.
  • Biological Magnetic Resonance Data Bank (BMRB) A repository for data from NMR spectroscopy on proteins, peptides, nucleic acids, and other biomolecules. See information on submitting data.
  • The Cell: An Image Library - Images of all cell types from all organisms, including intracellular structures and movies or animations demonstrating functions. This project relies upon the cell biology community to populate the library. See information on contributing images.
  • ComBase A web-based resource for quantitative and predictive food microbiology, including a database of observed microbial responses to a variety of food-related environments and a collection of relevant predictive models. See information on submitting data.
  • Database of Short Genetic Variations (dbSNP) NCBI's database of single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) and multiple small-scale variations that include insertions/deletions, microsatellites, and non-polymorphic variants.
  • Database of Genomic Structural Variation (dbVAR) NCBI's database of genomic structural variation including inversions, insertions, and translocations. Includes data from all species, clinical data, and both germline and somatic variants. See information on submitting data.
  • Database of Interacting Proteins (DIP) A catalog of experimentally determined interactions between proteins. See information on submitting data.
  • DataBasin Provides open access to thousands of scientifically-grounded, biological, physical, and socio-economic datasets. Learn about benefits of membership, including submitting data.

  • DigiMorph - Digital Morphology library is a dynamic archive of information on 3D scans, animations, and high-resolution X-ray computed tomography of biological specimens.
  • EMDataBank A unified global portal for deposition and retrieval of three-dimensional electron microscopy density maps, atomic models, and associated metadata. See information on depositing data.
  • GenBank NCBI's annotated genetic sequence database. See information on submitting data.
  • Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) NCBI's functional genomics data repository, including array- and sequenced-based MIAME-compliant data. See information on submitting data.
  • GenomeRNAi A database containing phenotypes from RNA interference (RNAi) screens in Drosophila and Homo sapiens. See information on submitting data.
  • Global Biodiversity Information Facility An international open data infrastructure, funded by governments. It allows anyone, anywhere to access data about all types of life on Earth, shared across national boundaries via the Internet.

  • Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS) Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. See information on submitting data.
  • International Molecular Exchange Consortium (IMEX) A non-redundant set of protein-protein interaction data from a broad taxonomic range of organisms, curated from direct submissions or peer-reviewed journals. See information on submitting data.
  • MetaboLights A cross-species, cross-technique database for metabolomics experiments and derived experiments. Also covers metabolite structures, reference spectra, biological roles, locations and concentrations, and experimental data. See information about submitting data.
  • microRNA Database (miRBase) A searchable database of published miRNA sequences and annotation. See information on submitting data.
  • Morphbank A database of images documenting a wide variety of research including specimen-based research in comparative anatomy, morphological phylogenetics, taxonomy, and related fields focused on increasing our knowledge about biodiversity. See information on submitting data.
  • Paleobiology Database A global, collection-based occurrence and taxonomic data for marine and terrestrial animals and plants of any geological age, as well as web-based software for statistical analysis of the data. See information on submitting data.
  • PeptideAtlas A multi-organism, publicly accessible compendium of peptides identified in a large set of tandem mass spectrometry proteomics experiments. See information on submitting data.
  • PLEXdb A unified gene expression resource for plants and plant pathogens. See information on submitting data. Protein DataBank (PDB) A worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. See information on depositing data.
  • Protein DataBank - Experimentally determined structures for macromolecules (protein and nucleic acids). The site includes search and visualization tools. See information on submitting data.
  • Proteome Commons Tranche repository for public digital content relating to proteomics. See information on submitting data.
  • PubChem NCBI's repository of bioactivity/bioassay data and information for "small" molecules (i.e. not macromolecular). Both text-based and structure-based search tools are provided. See information on depositing a structure.
  • Sequence Read Archive NCBI's archive of raw sequence data from next-generation sequencing technologies. See information on submitting data.
  • Trace Archive NCBI's permanent repository of DNA sequence chromatograms (traces), base calls, and quality estimates for single-pass reads from various large-scale sequencing projects. See information on submitting data
  • TreeBASE A repository of user-submitted phylogenetic trees and the data used to generate them. See information on submitting data

Chemistry

  • Biological Magnetic Resonance Data Bank (BMRB) A repository for data from NMR spectroscopy on proteins, peptides, nucleic acids, and other biomolecules. See information for submitting data.
  • Cambridge Structural Database A world repository of small molecule crystal structures. See information on depositing a structure.
  • ChemSpider A chemical structure database containing over 25 million structures, including properties and associated information. See information for submitting data.
  • Crystallography Open Database (COD) An open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers. See information for submitting data.
  • eCrystalsThe archive for Crystal Structures generated by the Southampton Chemical Crystallography Group and the EPSRC UK National Crystallography Service.
  • EMDataBank A unified global portal for deposition and retrieval of three-dimensional electron microscopy density maps, atomic models, and associated metadata. See information for submitting data.
  • PeptideAtlas A multi-organism, publicly accessible compendium of peptides identified in a large set of tandem mass spectrometry proteomics experiments. See information for submitting data.
  • Protein DataBank (PDB) A worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. See information for submitting data.
  • PubChem NCBI's repository of bioactivity/bioassay data and information for "small" molecules (i.e. not macromolecular). Both text-based and structure-based search tools are provided. See information on depositing a structure.

Health & Medicine