Research by Subject: Journalism & Media Studies: Articles: Newspapers & News Sources

What is on this page

Multi-newspaper databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexi Uni provides access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; and full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Nexis Uni screen reader instructions
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international newspapers.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
California Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Includes over 470 historical and current California Newspapers, including the San Diego Union Tribune.
NewsBank Collections This link opens in a new window
International and U.S. regional and national newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts covering social, economic, environmental, government, sports, people, the arts, health, and science issues and events.

Includes current access to the San Diego Union Tribune by clicking on the "USA-California" link from the main page.
Access World News Historical and Current (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 11,688 Sources, dates vary by title. List of Sources
Explore diverse perspectives, topics and trends from past to present for research and assignments related to English, Language Arts, Social Studies, Science, Technology, Arts, and History. Study significant periods in American history through primary source content from complete editions of U.S. newspapers covering eras from the Revolutionary War to the Information Age. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Alternative news

Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and journals.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
ProQuest Platform accessibility report
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper, magazine and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports dealing with the impact of gender on a broad spectrum of subject areas.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender) Life Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions

Videos, audios, transcripts

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National and international news articles, business, legal and reference information. To find transcripts:
• From the "Search by Subject or Topic" drop down menu (top right of screen), select "Broadcast Transcripts."
•Type your key words in the search box.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international newspapers. To find transcripts:
• Type the key words about your topic, in the first box.
• Select "Transcript" from the "Document type" drop down menu.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline. Free to use, but user must register. Video tapes can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
News and Public Affairs - Internet Archive
"Alternative independent radio news programming is featured here. In addition to a host of intriguing radio news shows, this collection features the Presidential Recordings collection of historical speeches and secret recordings."
TV News - Internet Archive
"The research library contains more than 893,000 news programs collected over 4+ years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added.
Use the index of searchable text and short, streamed clips to find programs to borrow on DVD-ROM or view at the Internet Archive’s library in San Francisco."

Historical newspapers

Los Angeles Times 1881-1993, ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full-image archive, 1881-1993.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
New York Times 1851 - 2014, ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full-image archive.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Chronicles the evolution of American history, culture and daily life through thousands of historical newspapers from all 50 states.

San Diego

San Diego Union 1871-1988 This link opens in a new window
Digitized coverage from Newsbank from March 20, 1871 until October 31, 1988.
San Diego Evening Tribune 1895-1985 This link opens in a new window
Earliest issue: December 03, 1895
Latest issue: December 31,1985
Note: Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
San Diego Union-Tribune Historical and Current 1895-current This link opens in a new window
The San Diego Union-Tribune is the product of a merger of the San Diego Union, founded in 1868, and the Evening Tribune, founded in 1895. It is the second-oldest newspaper in Southern California, and the oldest business in San Diego County.

Other historical newspaper collections

Center for Research Libraries News Collection
"[N]ewspapers from all regions of the world; and collections of scripts, transcripts, and translations of news reports, produced or compiled by the British Broadcasting Corporation, CBS, the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, and the Voice of America." Major strengths are: African American newspapers, Civilian Conservation Corp. Camp papers, Underground and alternative press, U.S. ethnic newspapers.
All newspapers can be searched in CRL’s catalog. Collections on microfilm may be borrowed through ILL.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress."
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
Online archive from the University of Arizona that documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Popular general-interest periodicals, including news magazines, published in the United States.

NewspaperCat: Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers
Search for online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.
Trove: digitised newspapers and more
"[A]ccess to over 18.5 million pages from over 1000 Australian newspapers. Newly digitised articles are added daily. Digitised newspapers and more on Trove includes newspapers from each state and territory and from the earliest published newspaper in 1803, to the mid-20th century, including some community language newspapers."

Journalism & Media Studies

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

What is on this page

Multi-newspaper databases

Alternative news

Videos, audios, transcripts

Historical newspapers