Welcome to the research guide for JMS 600A! This guide provides links to resources discussed in the JMS 600A library instruction session.
Check out the full Journalism & Media Studies guide to find information on the top resources and databases as well as gateways to additional resources for your JMS research.
Covers the Humanities, Social Science, Sciences, and Engineering disciplines offered at over 550 universities worldwide.
For best results, log into your Library Account using your SDSUid and password when Using OneSearch and look for borrowing options.
JMS Graduate students are encouraged to create a personal account with EBSCO and adopt a citation management tool to store and manage your citations from any EBSCO database.
An EBSCO personal account is free and it can be used to:
Citation management applications allow you to collect and organize your citations on the web or on your own computer. Use is not restricted to particular databases.
Using the application you can automatically create bibliographies in major styles, such as APA or MLA, and then export them as several document types (including Word, RTF, HTML, etc.). Some work directly with word processors (MS Word, LibreOffice, DaOpenOffice, BibTeX) to format in-text citations and generate a reference list.
Current recommendations for citation management include EndNote or Zotero.
This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods accessibility guide includes information for screen readers for text, video players, and more.
SAGE Research Methods has more than 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by academics across the social sciences.
SAGE Research Methods Cases has more than 1,100 case studies of how real research projects were conducted.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing.
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 480 videos and 125 hours of tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.
Resources for faculty teaching with SRM:
Sage Research Methods webinar
Using SRM to Teach Research Methods
Sample Assignments
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
