Research by Subject: Government Publications: United States: Judiciary

Key databases for the courts

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes unofficial full text of decisions from the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, District Courts, Military, Tax Courts, Bankruptcy Courts, Customs Courts, Court of International Trade, Commerce Courts, Court of Veteran Appeals. Also includes some Supreme Court briefs.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of primary and secondary legal materials. Primary sources include federal and state cases, statutes and court rules, regulations and administrative decisions. Secondary sources include law encyclopedias, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence 2d, texts and treatise, and law reviews. Also includes European Union legal materials.

United States Courts Opinions via FDsys
"[P]ublic access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for this earlier time period. Once an opinion is located, all associated opinions within the same case can be accessed from the opinion."

United State Reports
Call Number: JU 6.8 Government Publications/United States
Contains the "official" full text of US Supreme Court decisions.

Supreme Court of the United States
Includes opinions (v. 502, 1991 to present), slip opinions (2010 to present), oral arguments (transcripts and audio 2000-present).
Supreme Court Briefs
"From 7/1998 to present, all briefs filed by the Solicitor General, except responses to IFP cases. From 1993-1996, and 1986-1990 Solicitor General merits briefs and responses. From 1982-1985 Solicitor General merits briefs. Please see the web site for information on omissions, arrangement, and formats."
U.S. Supreme Court Briefs
"Before presenting their oral arguments, counsel for both sides will submit a legal brief summarizing the facts of the case as well as the legal reasoning behind their arguments. Cases set for hearing during the current Supreme Court term, for which FindLaw has online versions of briefs, are listed below in alphabetical order by case name."