Research by Subject: Criminal Justice: Statistics

Statistics & Visualizations

data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Data.census.gov is the platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau, including ready-made Census tables and Census microdata that will all users to create their own census data tables. Find out more about data.census.gov from their FAQ page.
Data Basics from DataPlanet This link opens in a new window
Explore topical explanations about using data, including exploring and finding data, evaluating datasets, understanding data visualizations, how to write about statistics, and the responsible use of data.
DataPlanet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data in 16 major categories: Agriculture and Food; Banking, Finance, and Insurance; Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement; Education; Energy Resources and Industries; Government and Politics; Health and Vital Statistics; Housing and Construction; Industry, Business, and Commerce; International Relations and Trade; Labor and Employment; Military and Defense; Natural Resources and Environment; Population and Income; Prices, Consumption, and Cost of Living; Transportation and Traffic
ICPSR (The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Includes over 700 member institutions and over a half million files of social science research. Also provides access to a large number of data sets from various partners, including U.S. statistical agencies and foundations.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Includes over 700 member institutions and over a half million files of social science research. Also provides access to a large number of data sets from various partners, including U.S. statistical agencies and foundations.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results, data, and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, crime victims, and criminal justice operations.
Criminal Justice Statistics
The U.S. Census Bureau acts as a data collection agent to provide statistical data on a range of topics including capital punishment statutes, inmates on death row, inmate sexual victimization, inmate deaths, criminal justice expenditures, and a variety of facility data.
Gun Violence Archive
Online archive of gun violence incidents collected from media, law enforcement, government and commercial sources daily in an effort to provide near-real time data about the results of gun violence. GVA in an independent data collection and research group with no affiliation with any advocacy organization.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis from curated studies or statistical data series.
National Registry of Exonerations
Provides detailed information about every known exoneration in the U.S. since 1989—cases in which a person was wrongly convicted of a crime and later cleared of all the charges based on new evidence of innocence.

ARJS Crime Statistics for San Diego
Law enforcement agencies in San Diego County, including the San Diego Police Department, publish their crime statistics on ARJIS. Statistics will be updated periodically on this site.
CrimeMapping.com - Recent Crime Data Mapped
CrimeMapping.com utilizes an advanced mapping engine, which helps us provide a high level of functionality as well as flexibility to the agencies we serve. Crime data is extracted on a regular basis from each department's records system so that the information being viewed through a Web browser is the most current available. This data is always verified for accuracy and all address information is generalized by block in order to help ensure privacy is protected.
SANDAG Crime Data
Data available from the crime mapping and alerts application is updated weekly in a text file format.

CJSC Publications
Inlcudes publications on criminal statistics available from the California Attorney General's Office.
OpenJustice- California Department of Justice

Criminal Justice

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

Statistics & Visualizations