Research by Subject: Reference/Find Facts: Dictionaries

English Language Dictionaries

The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
Collins English Dictionary
Dictionary of Contemporary Slang
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics Definitions of terms in the field of linguistics and phonetics.
Dictionary of Visual Discource: A Dialectical Lexicon of Terms This substantial and ambitious dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies. It provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.
How We Talk: American Regional English Today A Talking Tour of American English, Region by Region.
The Macquarie Dictionary
The Penguin English Dictionary
OneLook Dictionaries Searches multiple online dictionaries simultaneously.

Oxford English Dictionary Traces the usage of words from across the English-speaking world with etymological analysis, variant spellings, and pronunciation.

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary & Thesarus Searchable dictionary and thesaurus. This is the online version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (11th edition).

Collins French Dictionary and Grammar
Collins Spanish Dictionary
Dictionary of Foreign Phrases and Abbreviations, H.W. Wilson Lists in one alphabetical sequence foreign phrases, proverbs, maxims and abbreviations frequently used in written and spoken English.
Dictionary of Languages
The essential guide to the languages of the world, comprehensively detailing languages in a clear A-Z style.