Link to journal articles from library subscription databases using a permalink. Don't download a PDF from a library database and upload it to the LMS - that violates our license agreements with database vendors. Some databases create dynamic, session dependent links that won't work in a different browser (as it would be a new session) and won't work after a few hours. Ebscohost databases are an example of a vendor who uses session links. You can test if a link you want to use is a permalink by copying the link and opening it up in a new browser. Session dependent links will prompt you to log in if you are off campus, but will either take you to a choose a database screen, or to an error message and not to the resource. Examples of icons in database records that will lead you to a permalink:
EbscoHost databases ProQuest Databases (right click and copy link location) Gale Databases
If you can't find how to create a permalink in a specific database, please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian. They can help you make sure all your links will work for your students from the LMS.
Search the Library catalog, plus about half our databases to find books, journals and more. EbscoHost databases are not included in the OneSearch index, and will have to be searched separately.
Open Access journal articles may be included in subscription databases, but the preferred link to use for an open access article is the publisher link. In many cases, you may download an open access article and upload it as a file in the LMS.
Students may freely access journal articles in your course through article links in your class syllabus in the LMS. Library subscription database licenses allow for the inclusion of journal article database links in the LMS (with the exception of Harvard Business Cases which are not licensed for course use through library resources). Downloading a copy of an article from a subscription database and uploading the file to the LMS violates our subscription license. For assistance with placing the correct article link in the LMS, please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian.
For any article not available through Library databases or Open Access faculty can work with Montezuma Publishing to create custom Course Readers. Montezuma Publishing will handle formatting and getting copyright clearance for each article or book chapter included in the reader. Readers may be purchased by students in digital or print format. Montezuma Publishing works with the Student Ability Success Center (SASC) to ensure that course readers are accessible through alternate formats (screen readers, braille, etc.).
