America's Historical Newspapers 🔒
Consists of searchable digital facsimiles of local newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Read eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and reviews.
San Diego State University's Facts, Mission, and History
"Since its founding in 1897, the university has grown to become a leading public research university, and a federally-designated Hispanic-serving Institution and an Asian American and Native American Pacific Islander-Serving Institution. Each year, SDSU provides more than 37,000 students with the opportunity to participate in an academic curriculum distinguished by direct contact with faculty and an international emphasis that prepares them for a global future. In 2024, the university celebrated the milestone of reaching 500,000 alumni with the spring graduating class."
Raising Our Voices: The History of San Diego State and San Diego in Sound 🔒
Oral histories from San Diego State University Alumni, guest speakers, and several other prominent people that shaped SDSU and beyond.
🔒 Requires Log In Credentials
"Housed within the Document Archives, the Oral History Collection is one of the most important in California, documenting over 100 years of regional history. Begun in 1956 with interviews of over 300 pioneer San Diego County residents, the collection now numbers over 1,800 interviews. It provides a fascinating insight into our social, cultural and political history, including eyewitness accounts of people, events and lifestyles."
The Urban Experience of Black San Diegans
A visual guide about the history of African Americans in San Diego.
Historical Photo Gallery of San Diego
"The City Clerk’s collection of historical images showcases the ironic and illustrative history of its citizens throughout the City of San Diego. These subjects and collections include compilations of images from various decades, preserved and maintained in the City Clerk Archives. The Historical Photo Gallery Collections are not intended to be complete or all inclusive and are word searchable. This collection contains approximately 700 images. These images date from 1880s to 1970s."
Norman Baynard Photograph Collection
"Norman Baynard, a self-taught photographer, operated the Baynard Studio and, through his work, unintentionally captured a portrait of Black life in San Diego starting in the early 1930s."
Men inside the RBG House of Music located at 4268 Market St. Earl Mitchell, father of baseball player Kevin Mitchell, stands in the center with a white hat, April 1974. NEDCC Baynard, San Diego History Center.
Special Collections & University Archives (SCUA)
The Department of Special Collections & University Archives (SCUA) houses rare, fine, unique, and valuable books, periodicals, manuscripts, and documents which require preservation, security and care in handling. Other valuable historical items such as photographs, prints, postcards, memorabilia, scrapbooks, and oral histories are also held in Special Collections.
San Diego History Center's Document Archives
The Document Archives is the region’s largest collection of historical materials covering hundreds of years of San Diego history. The Archives houses over 45 million documents: public and architectural records, books, maps, scrapbooks, manuscripts, newspapers, ephemera, diaries and oral histories.
City of San Diego's Digital Archives
The San Diego City Clerk Digital Archives provides materials for public use, research, and viewing as a contribution to education and scholarship.
The CPMCC has served as an educational and cultural hub by providing resources, programming, and care to the community since 2015.
The mission of the Lambda Archives of San Diego is to collect, preserve, and share the history of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer people in San Diego, Northern Baja California and the Imperial County region.
