United States Elections Project
The United States Elections Project is an information source for the United States electoral system. The mission of the project is to provide timely and accurate election statistics, electoral laws, research reports, and other useful information regarding the United States electoral system. By providing this information, the project seeks to inform the people of the United States on how their electoral system works, how it may be improved, and how they can participate in it.
U.S. President 1976–2020 (Dataverse)
This data file contains constituency (state-level) returns for elections to the U.S. presidency from 1976 to 2020.
ICPSR data on Presidential elections, 1788-1990
Data on presidential elections created by ICPSR.
ICPSR Electoral Data for Counties. Presidential Races, 1840-1972
County-level returns for elections to the presidency and Congress for the years 1840 to 1972.
U.S. Senate 1976–2020
"This data file contains constituency (state-level) returns for elections to the U.S. Senate from 1976 to 2020."
MIT Election Data Lab 1976-2018
House and Senate returns by state and district, 1976-2018.
U.S. ICPSR Historical Election Datasets, 1788-1990
ICPSR data collection of county-level electoral returns, includes all parties and candidates.
U.S. House 1976–2018 (Harvard Dataverse)
This data file contains constituency (district) returns for elections to the House of Representatives from 1976 to 2018.
Dataverse, U.S. House Primary Election Results (1956-2010)
"Election return data from all Democratic and Republican primaries for the US House of Representatives for 1956-2010. Includes district-specific variables, as well as data about candidate backgrounds and gender in recent years. "
Southern Primary and General Election Data, 1920–1972
Senatorial election data, 1920-1972.
ICPSR Congressional Races, 1840-1972
County-level returns for elections to the United States House of Representatives 1840 to 1972.
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825
Searchable election returns. Includes Senate and House. Can search by party, state, office, year, jurisdiction, and election type. Full datasets are downloadable.
Election results for the state of California.
State Legislative Election Returns, 1967-2016
State legislative general election data at the district level.
Judicial Elections Data 1990-2010
Elections to state supreme courts.
ICPSR U.S. Historical Election Returns Datasets, 1788-1990
Covers most Gubernatorial elections, 1788-1990.
ICPSR Election Datasets, 1788-1990
Includes Gubernatorial Elections.
Southern Primary and General Election Data, 1920–1972
Gubernatorial election data, 1920-1972.
ICPSR Electoral Returns for Statewide Offices in the United States, 1874-1952
Returns for statewide offices (attorney general, secretary of state, lieutenant governor). Only covers: CA, CO, IN, MN, Mo, MT, NE, NY, ND , OH, OR, PA, SD, WV, and WI.
ICPSR Referenda and Primary Election Materials
"Summary View help for Summary
This data collection contains election returns at the county and state levels from the mid-nineteenth century to the late twentieth century for primary and general elections on statewide referenda, constitutional amendments, state House/Senate joint resolutions, and initiated measures. The ballot language of each measure is also included. County-level returns for most gubernatorial, senatorial, and congressional primary elections from 1910 to the present are documented as well."
Election results for candidate races and propositions. Proposition history dates back from the 1900s.
County Government Elections, 1990-2014 (Dataverse)
Covers county legislative elections and fiscal policies in medium and large counties with "10,708 elections in approximately 298 medium and large counties over the past 25 years."
Mayoral Elections, 1950-2014 (Dataverse)
Covers 9,131 mayoral elections in 1,016 cities.
Roper National, State, and Primary Election Exit Polls (1972-Present)
Questions about president, Congress, gubernatorial races, and other voting issues.
Current Population Survey IPUMS Data 1994-present
Includes voting registration data from Current Population Survey.
Voting and Registration Supplement Tables (Census) 1960-current
Includes voting, registration, and population data.
African American Electorate: A Statistical History (1610-2008)
Provides data on the African American electorate.
Statistical History of the American Electorate [Print]
"An account of American elections from 1788 through 1999."
