An abstract is a brief, one-paragraph summary of your paper – generally 150-250 words. The abstract, like the title, should be able to stand alone and fully explain what your paper is about. A good abstract is accurate, nonevaluative, readable, and concise. (APA Style Guide 2022)
Example:
Article:
Abstract:
We draw on new and original data to examine both partisan and systemic inequities that have fueled the spread of COVID-19 in Native America. We show how continued political marginalization of Native Americans has compounded longstanding inequalities and endangered the lives of Native peoples. Native nations have experienced disproportionate effects from prior health epidemics and pandemics, and in 2020, Native communities have seen greater rates of infection, hospitalization, and death from COVID-19. We find that Native nations have more COVID-19 cases if they are located in states with a higher ratio of Trump supporters and reside in states with Republican governors. Where there is longstanding marginalization, measured by lack of clean water on tribal lands and health information in Native languages, we find more COVID-19 cases. Federal law enables non-members to flout tribal health regulations while on tribal lands, and correspondingly, we find that COVID-19 cases rise when non-members travel onto tribal lands. Our findings engage the literatures on Native American politics, health policy within U.S. federalism, and structural health inequalities, and should be of interest to both scholars and practitioners interested in understanding COVID-19 outcomes across Tribes in the United States.
First of all, let's define what a bibliography is: a list of sources (books, journal articles, and so on) that you have consulted on a particular topic. You might also hear the term "reference list" or "works cited." The bibliography contains information about each source, such as the author, title, journal name, date, page numbers. That information is formatted in a specific way, known as a citation style. Your professor should let you know what citation style they want you to use: APA, MLA, Chicago, or another style.
Now what does the annotated part mean? Well, instead of just a straightforward list of the sources, there's some explanatory text along with each entry that you create. This is typically a brief summary of what the source is about, along with critical analysis of the usefulness of the source, any biases, gaps in coverage of the topic, and so on.
An annotated bibliography can be an important step in the research process, as you gather and evaluate the sources you are finding. It can help you determine if you are finding enough on your topic or if you need to adjust your research question.
Check your assignment or ask your professor for how many sources are required, and what types of sources (article, books, websites, etc.)
Check your assignment or ask your professor. If they do not have a preference, choose either MLA or APA and stick with it for the entire bibliography.
If you are using a citation generator in OneSearch or one of the library databases, use these guides to double check that the citations are correct:
Annotations are typically 4-6 sentences long. Your annotation should summarize, evaluate, and reflect on how the reference is relevant to your research assignment. The annotation should always be in your own words, not copied from the abstract provided at the beginning of the article.
Summary - An overview of the purpose, major themes, and conclusions of the source.
Evaluation - An assessment of the source’s credibility and authority of the author.
Reflection - A brief explanation of how the source relates to your research and any of your own conclusions the source helped you reach about the topic.
If you need help creating and formatting your annotated bibliography, visit the Writing Center located within the Library.
