Research by Subject: Political Science: Reference Works

U.S & International Reference

CQ Voting & Elections This link opens in a new window
Includes reference narratives and documents on elections, parties, voter behavior, and campaigns. Extract election results by: candidate, office, locality, and race type over time. Access U.S. election results across states.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic reference books, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Concise information on all aspects (political, economic, social, educational, etc.) of nations; lengthy updates on politics and foreign relations of each country.
PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, government documents and more for the subjects of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Congressional publications and legislative histories; bills, laws, and regulations; member biographical and committee assignment information; and insider\\'s perspectives on legislative activities through the National Journal.
This resource searches the full text of three historical newspapers, the Chicago Defender (1909-1975), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), and the New York Times with Index (1851-2014).
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library includes documents for Andrew Johnson, Bill Clinton, Richard Nixon, and Donald Trump. This new collection brings together documents both contemporaneous and asynchronous to each president’s impeachment, presenting both a snapshot of the political climate as each played out and the long view history has taken of past proceedings.

Congressional Research Service reports round out a general discussion of presidential impeachment, and a curated list of scholarly articles, external links, and a bibliography provide avenues for further research on this topic.
Virtual Reference Library (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of online reference books published by Gale.
World Protest and Reform Movements Global Perspectives This link opens in a new window

American Political Culture [3 Volumes] by Mark J. Rozell, et al.
Demonstrating that political culture is equally rooted in public events, internal debates, and historical experiences, this unique, three-volume encyclopedia examines an exceptionally broad range of factors shaping modern American politics, including popular belief, political action, and the institutions of power and authority.
A Dictionary of Modern Politics by David Professor Robertson
A comprehensive guide to the complex ideology/terminology which surrounds the world of politics.
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet by Dewayne Dean
This authoritative, multi-volume work showcases the cabinets of all 44 presidential administrations, from George Washington to Barack Obama.
International Encyclopedia of Political Science by Bertrand Badie
With entries from leading international scholars from around the world, this eight-volume encyclopedia offers the widest possible coverage of key areas both regionally and globally. The International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing the theoretical and cultural pluralism of our approaches and including findings from the far corners of the world.
The Oxford Handbook of American Political Parties and Interest Groups by L. Sandy Maisel, et al.
The books in this series are an essential guide to the study of American political life in the 21st century. With engaging new contributions from the major figures in the field of political parties & interest groups, this handbook is a key point of reference for anyone working in American politics today.
The Oxford Handbook of Political Science by Robert E. Goodin (Editor)
Drawing on the rich resources of the ten-volume series of The Oxford Handbooks of Political Science, this one-volume distillation provides a comprehensive overview of all the main branches of contemporary political science.
Polling America by Richard L. Clark, et al.
This work provides an authoritative overview of the composition of public opinion in America, the methodologies by which public opinion is measured, and the importance of polling to U.S. politics, policy, and culture.

Political Science

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

U.S & International Reference