This compendium summarises the astronomical data for all stars brighter than magnitude 8.0. For every object listed, it includes designations from the HD (Henry Draper) and SAO (Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory) star catalogues; the star name and constellation; the common name; the position for the equinox and epoch 2000.0; the star's proper motion; its visual magnitude and colour index; the absolute magnitude; the spectral type; the radial velocity; the infrared distance; and, where appropriate, additional information on multiplicity, variability and cluster membership. There is an index of Flamsteed and Bayer designations as well. The information given in this catalogue is derived from the SIMBAD (Set of Identifications, Measurements and Bibliographical references of Astronomical Data) database held at the Strasbourg Observatory. This is the definitive reference set used in professional astronomy. Serious observers of stars and star systems will appreciate the new edition of this established reference work.
Held up by the heliopause? Floored by the flatness problem? Intimidated by MACHOs? With this dictionary there is no need to be defeated by such astronomical jargon. These terms, along with almost 3,200 more words, names and abbreviations encountered in amateur and professional astronomy, are explained clearly and concisely in a style that is authoritative but accessible. In addition to a comprehensive selection of specialist terms, entries include all the constellations, all the planets and moons of the solar system, many individual comets, stars and asteroids, observatories and spacecraft. There are 57 line diagrams and 7 tables of additional information at the back. Anyone involved with astronomy, either professionally or as a leisure interest, will find this dictionary a handy and invaluable reference book.
Astronomy and Astrophysics is a comprehensive, fundamental, and up-to-date reference book. It is filled with vital information and basic facts for amateur astronomers and professional astrophysicists, and for anyone interested in the Universe, from the Earth and other planets to the stars, galaxies and beyond. An exceptionally thorough Index cross-references concepts, discoveries and individuals in both the Timeline section and Dictionary section. The combined result is a unique stand-alone reference volume in which the reader can quickly locate information, while also discovering new and unexpected knowledge.
The Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy provides a lexicon of terminology covering fields such as astronomy, astrophysics, cosmology, relativity, geophysics, meteorology, Newtonian physics, and oceanography. Authors and editors often assume - incorrectly - that readers are familiar with all the terms in professional literature. With over 4,000 definitions and 50 contributing authors, this unique comprehensive dictionary helps scientists to use terminology correctly and to understand papers, articles, and books in which physics-related terms appear.
A collaboration between the Institute of Physics Publishing and Macmillan Reference Ltd, this work presents an extensive and comprehensive reference on astronomy and astrophysics. It has 800 contributors, over 2500 entries, is extensively cross-referenced - over 7500 links, and has extensive indexes - up to 12000 index entries. It should be of interest to undergraduates, graduate students, researchers and professionals, as well as to committed amateurs, librarians and lay people.
The ultimate guide to the final frontier This alphabetical tour of the universe provides all the history, science, and up-to-the-minute facts needed to explore the skies with authority. Packed with more than 3,000 entries that cover everything from major observatories and space telescopes to biographies of astronomers throughout the ages, it showcases an extraordinary array of newfound wonders, including microquasars, brown dwarfs, and dark energy, as well as a host of individual comets, asteroids, moons, planets, stars, nebulas, and galaxies. Featuring nearly 200 illustrations and eight pages of color photographs, this comprehensive guide provides easy lookup of topics and offers more in-depth information than can be found in existing star guides or astronomy dictionaries. It's an ideal resource for the amateur astronomer or anyone with an interest in the mysteries of the cosmos. David Darling, PhD (Brainerd, MN), is the author of The Complete Book of Spaceflight (0-471-05649-9) and Equations of Eternity, a New York Times Notable Book.
This new, fourth, edition of Allen's classic Astrophysical Quantities belongs on every astronomer's bookshelf. It has been thoroughly revised and brought up to date by a team of more than ninety internationally renowned astronomers and astrophysicists. While it follows the basic format of the original, this indispensable reference has grown to more than twice the size of the earlier editions to accommodate the great strides made in astronomy and astrophysics. It includes detailed tables of the most recent data on: - General constants and units - Atoms, molecules, and spectra - Observational astronomy at all wavelengths from radio to gamma-rays, and neutrinos - Planetary astronomy: Earth, planets and satellites, and solar system small bodies - The Sun, normal stars, and stars with special characteristics - Stellar populations - Cataclysmic and symbiotic variables, supernovae - Theoretical stellar evolution - Circumstellar and interstellar material - Star clusters, galaxies, quasars, and active galactic nuclei - Clusters and groups of galaxies - Cosmology. As well as much explanatory material and extensive and up-to-date bibliographies.