Research by Subject: ED 808 Academic Research and Publishing: Articles

Most Helpful Databases

Education Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, trade publications, magazines and yearbooks.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, curricular material, documents, and more.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, curricular material, documents, and more. CSA version offers the most features.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from 26 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations from the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and book chapters in psychology and related disciplines.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Web of Science
SDSU discontinued our Web of Science subscription and has instead subscribed to Scopus. Our subscription to Web of Science expired December 20, 2019.

Faculty looking for journal impact metrics can see library recommendations in our FAQ.

Additional Useful Databases

Dissertations and Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers the Humanities and Social Science disciplines offered at over 550 universities worldwide.
LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LearnTechLib encompasses 30+ years and 135,000+ peer-reviewed full-text documents and abstracts of published international journal articles, conference papers from 265,000+ authors and additional multimedia-rich resources.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, trade publications, magazines and yearbooks.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Review of Research in Education This link opens in a new window
Review of Research in Education (RRE), published annually since 1973, provides an overview and descriptive analysis of selected topics of relevant research literature through critical and synthesizing essays. RRE promotes discussion and controversy about research problems in addition to pulling together and summarizing the work in a field.

Not a peer reviewed journal
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Check out the Opposing ViewPoints Research Guide
Watch a Tutorial

Opposing Viewpoints In Context includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more on today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Education Update Newsletter from ASCD. Current issue
ETS ReSEARCHER Database
ETS, a private nonprofit organization devoted to educational measurement and research, primarily through testing, provides this database that contains information on ETS-authored or published works, such as ETS Research Reports, ETS Research Memorandums, or publications written by ETS researchers and published by third parties, such as scholarly journals. For many ETS Research Reports, a link to a downloadable PDF file is provided on the abstract page.
Open access journals in the field of education - AERA SIG
Links to electronic journals that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text and accessible without cost.

Redalyc- Network of Scientific Journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal This link opens in a new window
Collection of open access journals from Latin America, Spain and Portugal maintained by the Autonomous University of the State of Mexico. Search functions and most articles in Spanish.
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews, and original literary works in social science and humanities journals that regularly contain information on Latin America, the United States-Mexico border region, and Latin@s in the United States.