ME 490W - Background Research & Individual Supplement Assignments - Mechanical Engineering - Research by Subject at San Diego State University

ME 490W - Background Research & Indiviudal Supplement Assignments

Background Research Assignment

Start with Background Research:

Background Research Worksheet: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Q-ISL6GO1IfnlJswC7PaE37yBHL9AhzOCFsyV1j7SFg/edit?usp=sharing

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search the Library catalog, plus about half our databases to find books, journals and more. EbscoHost databases are not included in the OneSearch index, and will have to be searched separately.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
To click through to the database, click on the San Diego State University, San Diego option.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Connect with SDSU subscription content through Google Scholar by configuring your Library Links in Google Scholar - link settings will be present any time you are logged into Google.
1. Go to http://scholar.google.com
2. Look above the search box and click on the three horizontal line menu icon and select Settings.
3. Click on Library Links from the navbar along the side of the page.
4. Enter San Diego State in the text field next to Library Links then click on the Search button.
5. Check all the boxes with our university name. Also search and find and check the box titled Open WorldCat - Library Search, then click Save in the lower right corner.

Determine How to Make It:

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information, instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.

Register for a free account in order to save items to a list, save comments, or export data to Excel.
AccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers world-renowned, interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
With AccessEngineering, you can:
- Search the latest editions of renowned engineering handbooks such as Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, and the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, as well as and hundreds of other expert references
- Access leading upper-level engineering textbooks, including Golnaraghi’s Automatic Control Systems, Vanek’s Energy Systems Engineering, and Davis’ Water and Wastewater Engineering
- Better understand material properties with DataVis, the interactive data visualization tool
- Accurately solve complex engineering equations with downloadable Excel spreadsheets
- Watch engineering solutions in action with hundreds of faculty-created videos
- Analyze key data with thousands of interactive graphs and downloadable tables
- Review comprehensive step-by-step explanations—not just answers— of engineering problems using solutions walkthroughs
- Find answers quickly with powerful, faceted search capabilities
- Develop entrepreneurial business skills to capitalize on innovations
- Browse content by subject, industry, course, or codes & standards to find the information you need
- Organize project information with personalization tools
O'Reilly Learning Online (formerly Safari eBooks Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Technical books from industry-leading publishers. Includes titles from the past three years only.
*No ebook downloads, online reading only
View on mobile devices by downloading the O'Reilly Learning Platform App.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
O'Reilly Learning Platform accessibility report

Standards

Find Materials and Supplies:

Manufactures and Suppliers

Individual Supplement Assignment

Professional Engineers should have the ability to recognize ethical and professional responsibility in engineering situations and make informed judgments, which must consider the impact of engineering solutions in global, economic, environmental, and societal contexts.

To do so, you will need to not only understand what your senior design project is, but understand the context of it with our world. Rather than looking at technical information, contextual information can be found in different material sources. The listing below will help:

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search the Library catalog, plus about half our databases to find books, journals and more. EbscoHost databases are not included in the OneSearch index, and will have to be searched separately.

Newspaper Articles - OneSearch

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, business magazines, newspapers, news wires, trade journals, SWOT analysis, country statistics, and industry reports.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and trade journals covering engineering (all areas), technology, manufacturing/industrial applications, and the physical sciences.
4 simultaneous users
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Engineering Case Studies Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Materials in the collection include: Feature-length video documentaries of major failures, Monographs explaining cases in detail and describing key engineering concepts and issues, Simulations depicting precisely what went wrong, Primary footage of accidents, including related news segments, Audio footage and transcripts, Testimonies from participants, victims, and witnesses, Images, accident reports, blueprints, and other key archival content whenever available, Bibliographies of authoritative materials from newspapers, Web sites, and journals, and Specially written cases that explore engineering ethics. Alexandar Street Platform accessibility statement

National Society of Professional Engineers - Ethics
Murdough Center for Engineering Professionalism
(the National Institute for Engineering Ethics is housed at the Murdough Center)

Engineering Ethics by Deborah G. Johnson
ISBN: 9780300209242
Publication Date: 2020-05-19
An engaging, accessible survey of the ethical issues faced by engineers, designed for students The first engineering ethics textbook to use debates as the framework for presenting engineering ethics topics, this engaging, accessible survey explores the most difficult and controversial issues that engineers face in daily practice. Written by a leading scholar in the field of engineering and computer ethics, Deborah Johnson approaches engineering ethics with three premises: that engineering is both a technical and a social endeavor; that engineers don't just build things, they build society; and that engineering is an inherently ethical enterprise.
Engineering Ethics and Design for Product Safety by Kenneth L. d'Entremont
ISBN: 1260460533
Publication Date: 2020-11-13
A systematic guide to product design and safety from an ethical engineering perspective This hands-on textbook offers a holistic approach to product safety and engineering ethics across many products, fields, and industries. The book shows, step by step, how to "design in" safety characteristics early in the engineering process using design for product safety (DfPS) methods. Written by a P.E. and skilled educator with industry experience, Engineering Ethics and Design for Product Safety addresses all aspects of the product system from the perspective of an active product-safety engineering manager. You will get detailed case studies, real-world examples, and side discussions that provide a deep dive into key topics. Coverage includes: Product safety Engineering ethics Product-safety components Hazards, risks, accidents, and outcomes A product-design process Product-safety engineering Engineering-design guidance Product-safety facilitators Product-safety engineering methods Product-safety defects and recalls

Mechanical Engineering

Librarian

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report