News and NewspapersThe guide was developed for students and faculty engaged in news and newspaper research. includes recommended resources and tips to help you succeed.
While we have a limited number of print newspapers (see print collections tab), we subscribe to many newspaper databases that offer digital access to past and current issues of newspapers.
Use the Ask Us 24/7 link if you need help. You can ask us in-person or by phone, text, chat or email.
Photo by Abhijith S Nair on Unsplash
SDSU has a variety of news related databases, see A-Z Databases: Newspapers. Read the database descriptions to identify which ones are right for you based on the subject matter, location, and/or date range coverage, as related to your research topic. Be aware that some resources like Alt-PressWatch offer cover to cover full image archives while others like the San Diego Union Tribune from Newsbank have image archives for just the past few years. Older issues will have the headline, body of text, and citation information only.
Newswires (aka wire services) provide up-to-minute news stories. Try CountryWatch for global real-time news from major international wire services or Acceda Noticias for Spanish language news and general interest stories from 3 international press wire services. If you are looking for videos, audios, or broadcast transcripts related to national or international news, start your search in InfoTrac Newsstand.
Our historical newspapers can be found electronically, in print, or on microform depending on the titles and dates in question. Explore digitized cover-to-cover newspapers from America’s Historical Newspapers and Chronicling America, Historic American Newspapers (1789-1963) collection, read the New York Times starting from 1851 via ProQuest Historical Newspapers, or click on A-Z Databases: Newspapers for more options.
Research Desk
General Research Assistance
Location: 1st Floor Library Addition
Phone: (619) 594-6728
eref AT sdsu DOT edu
