Form and Style by Carole SladeThis classic introductory text is well known for its solid guidance in the writing, documenting, and formatting of research papers, reports, theses, and dissertations. Form and Style's comprehensive coverage of the research process ranges from choosing a topic and preparing a draft to documenting sources and preparing a bibliography. The text provides models and explanations for four document styles: Chicago Manual of Style (CMS), Modern Language Association (MLA), American Psychological Association (APA), and Columbia Guide to Online Style (CGOS). The Twelfth Edition features the latest information on documentation styles, using computers and the Internet, and online sources and the research process.
Call Number: Research Desk LB2369 .C3 2003
Publication Date: 2003-07-02
Keys for Writers by Ann Raimes; Maria JerskeyWith its simple tabbing system (five red tabs for the writing process and research, and five gold tabs for sentence-level topics), thorough and concise coverage of grammar, an easy-to-read format, and customizable KeyTabs®, KEYS FOR WRITERS is a valuable resource for students in all disciplines throughout their college careers and beyond. In addition to a contemporary new design, an entirely new companion website, and a new media-enhanced e-Book, the Sixth Edition features updates and additions including new visuals, more of the book's popular "Source Shots," new student samples, MLA and APA coverage thoroughly revised to reflect their respective organizations' latest standards, and expanded coverage of topics ranging from annotated bibliographies and working with sources to visual arguments. This is an extensive and exciting revision of an effective handbook that is deservedly a best-seller!
Call Number: Reference PE1408 .R16 2011
Publication Date: 2010-03-08
The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial StaffTechnologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.