Research by Subject: Business: Find Country Information

globalEDGE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to several useful reports, in particular the Country Commercial Guides (U.S. Commercial Service).
This also links to the BBC Country Profiles in the Introduction section of each country under quick links which contain "Media Profiles" with links to the media outlets within a country.
Passport (Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor International's reports provide business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online's "Country Profiles" can be found in the bottom right hand corner of the homepage. These reports are roughly 20 pages with facts and figures about the population, topography, economy, media outlets, and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results, data, and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics. Under the reports drop down, look for "Country Reports" to search for a country by name.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO\'s, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, and policy briefs.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Consists of separate sources of global information. "Country Reviews" are full-text reports on 191 countries and include a "Cultural Etiquette" link.
eHRAF World Cultures (Human Relations Area Files at Yale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains is mostly used for articles, but it also contains industry and country reports. The Fitch Solutions and First Research reports (formerly BMI) is an excellent source. Use the searches below in one line in the advanced search, and use additional lines with the AND operator to add keywords or geographic terms.

For Fitch: "Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports" OR pubid(2044556)
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searching for the name of the country and narrowing the "Source type" results to "Country Reports" will give you reports from companies such as IHS Markit's Country Monitor reports that cover the country's economic conditions.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Northwestern Libraries' Foreign Governments List
This guide links to portals and web pages, in English Language when available, for legislative and executive branch institutions of foreign countries.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Results from over 14,000 surveys and polls conducted by over 700 organizations in the US and over 80 other countries.

IMF Datamapper
This version of the IMF DataMapper publishes a wide selection of the key economic indicators from 11 Datasets.
IMF Data Home Page
This is the centralized landing page for all IMF data, including the data that used to be available from print publications such as the Direction of Trade Statistics and International Financial Statistics. Registering for an account also gives you workbook access and the ability to trigger bulk downloads.
The World Bank Data Bank
DataBank is an analysis and vizualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
International Database: World Population Estimates and Projections
With the IDB, you can view demographic measures of over 200 countries and areas with populations of 5,000 or more, and for thousands of subnational areas (equivalent to U.S. states, counties, and townships in other countries). For each country and area, data in the IDB include total population, population by age and sex, and demographic characteristics such as fertility, mortality, and migration.
World Bank Business Ready (B-Ready) Reports
Business Ready (B-READY) 2024 report assesses the regulatory framework and public services directed at firms, and the efficiency with which regulatory framework and public services are combined in practice.

Tip: Risk Analysis

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To locate the Political Risk Yearbook: Type "Political Risk Yearbook [insert country name]" (without the square brackets) and change drop down box to "SO Publication Name," then "Search."
ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports (formerly BMI) in ABI/INFORM are published quarterly and are an excellent source for political and business risk information. To find information from Fitch Solutions on risk in a country:
1. Conduct the following search: risk AND PUBID(2044556)
2. Use the "Location" search limiters on the left hand side of the results page to narrow to a particular country or region
NOTE: Not every country or region will have a report every quarter

Business

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

Tip: Risk Analysis