Provides links to Fortune, Money and Fortune Small Business magazines, as well as for CNN’s business coverage of financial, business, and industry-specific news for US and world markets. Includes information on stocks, commodities, interest rates, and currencies as well as personal finance calculators, mutual fund reports, and investment and financial advice.
Find the latest company news and company profiles, excellent charts, key statistics, financial statements, current and historical stock quotes going back to 1986, top ten competitors and SEC filings. Also, provides 51 broad industry research reports comparing the top 10 companies in each.
While not all information is for free, you can search by ticker to find company reports including charts, earning estimates, fundamental ratios, industry ratios and growth rates.
Investment Advice, Tips, and Education
All of this content was written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (Current as of January 13, 2019).
FINRA provides comprehensive market data on equities, options and a wide range of bonds. It also helps investors build their financial knowledge and provides them with essential tools to better understand the markets and basic principles of saving and investing.
Includes educational content on investing and personal finance covering topics such as stocks, mutual funds, retirement planning, portfolio management, estate planning, taxes, and finding a financial advisor.
Created by the Securities and Exchange Commission's Office of Investor Education and Assistance, this page has links to SEC tips and publications that will help users to "invest wisely and avoid costly mistakes and fraud." It also has suggestions on doing research, interactive tools to look at mutual funds and publicly traded companies, information on filing complaints, and links to other investor education sites.
Investopedia provides a wealth of information on investing and allows users to look at it based on where they are in their investing life: as a beginner, experienced investor, active trader or preparing for retirement. There are tutorials, an investment game, a dictionary, research material and more.
The Alliance for Investor Education’s Investor’s Clearinghouse provides information on investing and financial markets, including educational material and links to other investment websites. Alliance members include the American Association of Individual Investors, the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute, the New York Stock Exchange and the Federal Reserve, among others.
MoneyChimp provides clear explanations on topics such as how to read an annual report, valuation methods, portfolios and index analysis, among others. Find calculators here as well as a section on "How Finance Works." Use their Chimp-a-Go-Go feature to learn something random.
NerdWallet is an American personal finance company, founded in 2009. It offers a website and app that aims to assist users in making personal financial decisions.
