This page contains links to help students find internships but also contains a number of other useful links. On this page, you can learn about internships, get internship search tips, and hear success stories from other Aztecs who have had an internship.
The "Explore Internships" portion of Vault Campus Edition allows to search for internships or browse internships by industry. This page links to the Vault Internship rankings, and these eBooks give detailed information on the internships that the Vault team finds best in several categories.
Tip: If you search for internships or browse internships by industry, you can narrow your results to internships in a certain geographic location and by the kind of compensation that is offered by using the limiters on the left hand side.
"The globalEDGE International Internship Directory is a significantly updated and adapted version of the Directory of International Internships which was created by MSU's International Studies and Programs under the direction of Dr. Charles Gliozzo. The original Directory was first published in 1989 and is now in its sixth edition. The Directory is a reference guide for students, faculty, staff, and administrators to help match students with international internship opportunities offered by two- and four-year colleges and universities, governmental agencies, non-profit groups, private organizations, and corporations. To search for an internship, select a type of organization, country, or subject of study (for example, international business)."
Indeed is, perhaps, the largest online job directory with millions of job postings and over 250 million unique monthly visitors. There are several search limiters in the indeed job search engine to help you narrow your search. When you do a keyword search based, such as biotechnology, there is an internship option in the "job type" limiters on the left hand side.
In addition to being the largest professional networking site with over 500 million users, LinkedIn also maintains a robust job search engine. In order to search for jobs on LinkedIn, you must create an account. Once you do a keyword search in the LinkedIn job databse, you can narrow the results to internships using the experience level drop down options.
Glassdoor is mostly known as a place where you can go for anonymous reviews of companies and salaries from former and current employees, but they also keep a very robust job database with advanced search features. Like LinkedIn, you must also create an account to use Glassdoor. when you do a keyword search for jobs in Glassdoor, such as cybersecurity, you can narrow to internships under the "all job types" drop down options.
Idealist is a job search engine that focuses on jobs, internships, and volunteer opportunities in the non-profit sector with an emphasis on social and environmental responsibility. According to their site, "Idealist connects millions of idealists – people who want to do good – with opportunities for action and collaboration all over the world."
Internships at Federal and Local Governmental Entities
The USAJOBS Pathways Program provide internship opportunities to students and recent graduates at federal agencies. This page gives more information about the requirements as well as a link to their database of internship opportunities.
This job search engine is maintained by the state of California. This job engine contains job listings for state and local government, but it also has listings for some non-profit and corporate jobs as well. If you use the advanced search under in the "Find a Job" page, you can narrow to internships using the "Job Type" filters.
"Summer programs at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) provide an opportunity to spend a summer working at the NIH side-by-side with some of the leading scientists in the world, in an environment devoted exclusively to biomedical research (At the NIH "biomedical sciences" includes everything from behavioral and social sciences, through biology and chemistry, to physics, mathematical modeling, computational biology, and biostatistics)."