E-book & Streaming Media Management

When ordering a new e-book or streaming media collection, Acquisitions will notify the Cataloging and Metadata Strategies Librarian and provide the following information:

• Access type: perpetual or subscription-based
• Vendor
• Collection type: aggregator or selective

The librarian will decide:

• Whether it is needed to create/activate a collection in IZ with bib records. Some article-level collections, like Gale primary sources, are taught at the database level in the information literacy class and have low usage data. Therefore we do not import bib or activate CZ collections with bib unless the CZ bib records have good quality. We may only provide access to the database (create an empty collection in Alma).
• Whether to use CZ collection (if available); if not, find the source of bib records

The librarian will create an IZ collection / activate a CZ collection (can be empty or inactive before the contract is signed) and provide collection ID to Acquisitions. Acquisitions will link the collection to a PO Line and notify the librarian once the contract is signed. The librarian will then activate resources or import bibs into IZ.

If you are not sure if the collection you received exists in Alma or not, check in Alma or search in the SDSU e-collection page.

If you have decided it is necessary to create/activate a non-empty collection in IZ, follow the guide when handling a new e-collection:

• Using CZ records or create an IZ collection
  • CZ: Activate
  • IZ:
    • Create a new e-collection
    • Review the licenses and add RapidILL lending note to the collection description using one of the below options:
      • LocalOnly: all streaming media and OA collections and non-ILL collections
      • LendableInternational: Lendable to all RapidILL libraries worldwide
      • LendableCountry: Lendable to RapidILL libraries in your country.
      • All Gale collections except Gale databases are not permitted for ILL. All ProQuest, Wiley, and Sage are allowed for ILL.
    • Clean up bib records: remove extra 856 that is not going to be used as links
    • Create a norm rule for 973 & update 973 database
      • For OA collections, create norm rules to add 506 field
    • If data sync can be set up?
    • Does it need to be added to the reclamation set?
    • Create a new import profile and run
  • Add the new collection to the collection management app
  • Add/change collection bib record if needed

When handling a new collection, the first step is to check if this collection exists in CZ. Some CZ collections have title-level records and they are in good quality. Using CZ records does not require future update checking and maintaining. However, some CZ collections are in poor quality. e.g., not using OCLC records, no subject headings, etc. In this case, we might better use WCM/vendor-provided/OCLC-harvest records and link the records to CZ collections. If no CZ collections, it might be possible to set up data sync between Alma and WCM. To have more details about data sync, please check this guide.

• Find the matched CZ collection, click Portfolio List to check for the title level records' quality. Check for 5 titles to evaluate the bib records.
  • If the records are in good quality:
    • Make sure Acquisitions purchased the collection and check if they need to add po information after activation
    • Activate the whole collection or activate selected titles in this collection
      • If the whole collection is activated
        • Go through the process in this webpage
      • If only part of the collection is activated:
        • Go through the process in this webpage
        • Do not check the box for 'Automatically activate new portfolios'
  • Otherwise
    • Find good bib record source:
      • Ask vendor if they have MARC records
      • Search in WCM to find better quality records
      • Search titles in OCLC to find good records
    • After import bib records, link to CZ collection if there's one

• Check with Acquisitions if a new collection is needed to create, if yes
• In Alma, select Resources> Add Local Electronic Collection
• Enter collection name and other required information. Aggregator means SDSU selected all titles in this collection, while selective package means SDSU only has access to part of the collection. Service Type should be Full Text in most cases. Don't select Library unless it is specified (e.g., only available in IV campus). 
• Enter activation and service information
• In the Linking tab:
  • If the new collection is an OA collection, select Free for Service is Free?
  • Check with the ERM librarian, if the collection can be added to PROXY
  • In rare cases, the portfolio is linked by parser parameters.
• Click Save
• If there's a good bib record for the collection in OCLC, follow this guide to replace collection bib

• Create a Norm Ruel for creating local collection 973 field. This rule cannot be private. It needs to be shared with the NZ
  • For example: 
    • rule "Add 973 field with specified text if it does not already exist within the bib record"
      when (TRUE)
      then
      addField "973.a.Dance in video." if (not exists "973.a.Dance in video.")
      addSubField "973.n.Volume I"
      addSubField "973.A.01CALS_SDL"
      addSubField "973.9.LOCAL"
      end
  • Some collections may need to create 2 973 fields. One for the parent collection, one for the sub-collection
  • More information can be found in this guide
  • If the collection is open access, check for the bib, if no 506 has been added, add the following norm rule to the 973 norm rule:
    • rule "Add 506 field for OA books"
      when
      (not exists "506.*.*")
      then
      addField "506.{0,-}.a.Open Access"
      addSubfield "506.{0,-}.f.Unrestricted online access" 
      addSubfield "506.{0,-}.2.star" if ( not exists "506.5" )
      end
• Create the normalization process task
  • Configuration > Resources > Metadata Configuration > MARC21Bibliographic > Normalization Processes > Add Process
  • More information can be found in this guide
• Add the new 973 collection name to the database

Data sync can be set up for collections:

• Data source is WCM; then data sync needs to set up for (1) receive new & updated records from WCM (2) auto claim holdings if the collection is perpetual
• Or data source is vendor and the collection is perpetual; data sync needs to be set up for auto claim holdings

Details for how to set up data sync can be found in this guide 

• Resources > Manage Import Profiles > Add New Profile > Repository
• Follow the instruction, enter information to create the import profile for the collection
  • In the Normalization tab, select the 973 norm process task in the Correct the data using dropdown list; handle invalid data using MarcXML Bib Import
  • In the Match Profile
    • If the bib has OCLC number, match method select Unique OCLC Identifier Match meth​​​​​​od
    • If not, select 024 / 035 Match Method. 
  • In the Inventory Information Tab
    • If you select 'Multiple Portfolios' in the Inventory Information tab, the Import will create a portfolio for each 856 in the BIB record.
    • When selecting 'Single Portfolio', the first 856 in the input file will be selected to create the URL. Other 856 will remain in the bibliographic record.

• For CZ activated collection and use vendor system for match with local records, please see the "Pragda Complete Film Collection Life of File" import profile setting -- import bib for no match and replace bib for matches in CZ activated collection.
• For OCLC provider neutral perpetual titles, to upload to NZ and activate IZ portfolio, see the setting of "Import BIB to NZ and add eportfolio to IZ."

Navigate to the Additional tab of the electronic collection editor, you can select a descriptive bib record via the "additional descriptive information" list

• Ex Libris Knowledge Articles