Research by Subject: A How-To Research Tutorials Homepage: Using Sources in Your Work

Using Information in You Work

Tutorial: Information has Value Use this tutorial to introduce students to the ACRL Frame Information Has Value. Students will become aware of their roles as information creators and consumers and learn how issues like copyright and the digital divide affect their academic and personal lives.
Video: Data, Information, and Knowledge This video defines and explains the differences and relationships between data, information, and knowledge, and how each might be used or encountered in research.
Tutorial: Why Citations Matter This tutorial provides an overview of why it is important to cite sources, and an explanation for why different citation formats and citation styles exist.
Video: Academic Integrity Use this video to provide students with an introduction to the concept that information has value, and that acting with academic integrity and ethical behavior is essential to success as a student and as a participant in the scholarly conversation.
Video: Plagiarism This video provides examples and explanations of specific types of plagiarism, such as cloning, aggregation, and self-plagiarism, as well as strategies to prevent plagiarizing and a reminder of the possible consequences of academic dishonesty.
Video: Copyright Use this video to aid in instruction on intellectual property and copyright, including exceptions to copyright restrictions such as fair use, and guidance on the ethical use of others’ intellectual property.

Video: Synthesis This video focuses on strategies for writing a strong paper that brings together ideas from multiple sources, including identifying main ideas, and paraphrasing and summarizing techniques.
Tutorial: Synthesizing Information for Academic Writing This tutorial defines and explores information synthesis, including strategies for bringing together ideas and facts from multiple different sources at various stages in the research process, including background research and note taking, annotated bibliographies, and outlines. It also reviews different examples of final products of synthesis, such as literature reviews, persuasive essays, and research papers.
Tutorial: Paraphrasing, Quoting, and Summarizing Provides an overview of paraphrasing, quoting, and summarizing depending on the goal of your writing, plus how to accurately represent your sources.

Tutorial: APA 7th Edition Citation Style Identify the required elements of APA 7th edition citation style in order to properly format in-text and reference list citations in their assignments. The tutorial includes several “check your understanding” questions with drag and drop exercises where you can format citations of different source types properly.
Tutorial: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style This tutorial provides students with an overview of the MLA 8th Edition citation style, including both in-text citation format and works cited format. Tutorial provides an explanation and examples of different sources using the container concept introduced in MLA 8, and also includes several “check your understanding” questions with drag and drop exercises where you can format citations of different source types properly.
Chicago/Turabian Tutorials Learn how to format citations for Chicago and Turabian citation styles. Includes how to format journal, book and ebook, and website and social media citations in Chicago style.