Skip to main content

Children's Literature

Coretta Scott King Book Award turns 50!

by Linda Salem on 2019-08-06T11:08:00-07:00 | Comments

The SDSU Library Children’s and Young Adult Literature Collection is proud to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Coretta Scott King Book Award. First established in 1969, this annual award is given to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Be sure to stop by the fourth floor and see our new bulletin board recognizing the latest titles awarded this prestigious honor. A collection of past award-winning titles and books on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Mrs. Coretta Scott King are also on exhibit and visitors are encouraged to check them out!

SAVE THE DATE! In conjunction with this special anniversary, on September 4th, 2019, in room LL430, from 3 to 5 pm, Outreach Librarian Gloria Rhodes will host spoken word poet Ronald Williams, author of the book Lost Pharaoh, for a program on self-identity. 

For more information on the Coretta Scott King Book Award Anniversary please visit http://www.ala.org/rt/emiert/cskbookawards/csk50

To find out how you can get more involved in exciting events like this please visit the Black Resource Center at SDSU.

 

Post by K. Bliss and L. Salem


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



Students Review Día de los Muertos Children's Books in ENGL727 Chicanx Children's Literature Taught by Professor Phil Serrato
Coretta Scott King Book Award turns 50!
The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takeo Takei and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Instagram
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.