Skip to main content
sdsu logo

Children's Literature

Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

by Linda Salem on 2016-12-15T16:18:00-08:00 in Illustration, Art and Theater | Comments
 

Ball, P. (2002). Bright earth. Art and the invention of color. New York, Farrar Strauss & Giroux .

ISBN: 0374116792 Call Number: N7432.7.B35 2002 Abstract: For readers interested in color as language. Author’s approach is from a chemist’s view of color.  This work suggests a way to understand a painter’s message through their use of color technique, texture and brush marks. Appropriate for graduate students in art and art history and, conservation chemists. Color plates throughout. Index and bibl.

Clemens, R. and T. Graham (2007). Introduction to manuscript studies. New York, Cornell University Press.

ISBN: 9780801438639 Call Number: Z105.C58 2007 Abstract: Originally designed in 1998 for students of archival sciences. Illustrations aid in the training for paleography and codicology of medieval manuscripts.

Finlay, V. (2002). Color. A natural history of the palette. New York, Random House, Inc. 

ISBN: 0345444302 Call Number: ND1488.F56 2002 Abstract: A travelogue with chapters each organized around the history of a particular color. Most stories told here take place before 1900 in this overarching history of color and pigment manipulation.  Text design by C. Linda Dingler.

Finlay, V. (2014). The brilliant history of color in art. Los Angeles, J. Paul Getty Museum Getty Publications.

ISBN: 978-1-60606-429-0 Call Number: N7432.7 F56 Abstract: This is the history of color through the annals of human civilization and scientific discovery. Appropriate for upper division undergraduate art history students, psychology students, or anyone interested in studying the history of pigments. Entries range from those about pigments found in nature to those scientifically derived colors in the modern era.

Gage, J. (2000). Color and meaning.  Art, science and symbolism. Berkeley; London, University of California published in arrangement with Thames & Hudson.

ISBN: 0520226119 Call Number: 701.85 Gage. Abstract: Explores the historical use of color in art and science from the 14th century to the 20th century.  This title is also in the Edward Gorey Personal Library at San Diego State University Library.

Gage, J. (2006). Color in art. London, Thames & Hudson, Ltd.

ISBN: 9780500203941 Call Number: N7432.7G342006 Abstract: Not a history, each of this books' eight chapters considers a scientific discipline's relationship to art and color. Disciplines include chemistry, physics and physiology of color. Well-known artists throughout history are considered. 194 color plates.

Garfield, S. (2001). Mauve. How one man invented a color that changed the world. New York, W.W. Norton & Company.

ISBN: 0393020053 Call Number: TP140.P46G37 2001 Abstract: A narrative with color plates that tells the story of British chemist William Perkin who accidentally discovered mauve through work with coal-tar derivative dyes that impacted cell research, plastics, explosives, medicine, and pharmaceuticals. Color plates.

Jasper, C. (2005). Power color. Master color concepts for all media. New York, Watson-Guptill Publications.

ISBN: 082304260x Call Number: N7432.7.J37 2005 Abstract: Explains the use of color to beginning art students in studio classes.  Covers media, color wheel, color palette, color scheme, and more.  Sections called "In the Studio" profile ten artists’ color premise, color method and studio practice. A great full color volume with images of how different paints appear, their textures, and characteristics. Includes a brief history of color according to artists from antiquity (C. 1000 BCE) to minimalism in the 1970s.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
Is that Book Signed? Illustrators' Drawings as Inscription
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takeo Takei and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.