Skip to Main Content

Children's and Young Adult Literature

Act Locally, Read Globally! WorldKidLit and the Global Literature in Libraries Initiative.

by Linda Salem on 2023-08-05T13:32:00-07:00 | 0 Comments

! September is #WorldKidLItMonth

 

#WorldKidLit Project World Kid Lit is a global, groundroots community focused on raising awareness of world literature for young people.  #WorldKidLit encompasses children’s and young adult books, stories, authors and illustrators, from other countries, and books translated into English from other languages. Check out their website for lots of book reviews of translated children's books, reading lists, and much more! 

 

Global Literature in Libraries Initiative raises visibility of world literature for adults and children at the local, national and international levels by encouraging collaboration between translators, librarians, publishers, editors, and educators and by helping libraries engage readers in exploring world literature. Increased access to books in English translation means increased access to diverse perspectives in books. They award Annual Translated Young Adult Literature Book Prize, they create book lists and themes tied to major translation awards and topics, they offer library programming ideas, they support non-US publishers of English translations and non-US, non-English-language publishers to be able to promote books in libraries, and much more. Check out their website for more information.

Thanks for reading! 

 

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Recent Posts



SDSU Lbrary celebrates El Día de los Niños/El Día de los Libros - Children's Day/Book Day with new exhibit
Q & A: What's the Key to Finding Kids' Books in Public Libraries, School Libraries, and on the 4th Floor of the SDSU Library?
Act Locally, Read Globally! WorldKidLit and the Global Literature in Libraries Initiative.
¡Celebremos!: Pura Belpré Award at 25
Anti-racism, Educators, and Children's Literature
Kadir Nelson's Undefeated Awarded the Caldecott Medal. More Youth Media Awardees Here.
"Find just five things to improve" and other advice to young writers. In memory of beloved children's author Andrew Clements.
Students Review Día de los Muertos Children's Books in ENGL727 Chicanx Children's Literature Taught by Professor Phil Serrato
Coretta Scott King Book Award turns 50!
The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takeo Takei and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Subjects



Art
Illustration

  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.