Skip to main content
sdsu logo

Children's Literature

Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).

by Linda Salem on 2017-05-18T14:23:00-07:00 | Comments

Image resultFor born digital makers who crave  DIY 19th century letterpress forms and effects, Chris Riddell's illustrations for The Sleeper and the Spindle do not disappoint and earned the book the 2016 Kate Greenaway Medal for illustration. Inspired by illuminated texts and by the words of his collaborator and author Neil Gaiman, Riddell's technique is to draw in pencil, ink over the lines with a brush and to add color, blue and yellow, last, he told the Guardian in 2014, claiming “I’m not a painter by any stretch of the imagination; I’m a dyed-in-the-wool traditional illustrator, and I begin with black and white. If I need colour, I add it over the top. There’s a calligraphic element to it … it’s about the texture of lines on the page.” And the texture Riddell adds to the page in Sleeper evokes the 'thicks and thins' of letterpress printing techniques used during the golden age of fairytale illustration, relief printing and intaglio printing, but especially relief.

Chris Riddell fills this princess fairytale with letterpress/relief and illumination effects to illustrate Neil Gaiman's story in which Snow White's quest is to awaken Sleeping Beauty and herself.

Interested in learning more about letterpress printing? Watch this from video from Firefly  https://youtu.be/Iv69kB_e9KY

list of Kate Greenaway Medal awardees is at http://www.carnegiegreenaway.org.uk/archive.php?medal=greenaway

The Sleeper and the Spindle is available for checkout in the SDSU juvenile collection under call number 823 G141 S63 2015.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
Is that Book Signed? Illustrators' Drawings as Inscription
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takei Takeo and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.