Skip to main content

Children's Literature

The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library

by Linda Salem on 2017-06-10T08:48:00-07:00 | Comments

SDSU Library Children’s Book Collections 

 

 

 

Children's literature professor Dr. Alida Allison and I want one thing - to put quality books into kids' hands. As I look out at ninety brand new beautiful children’s books that are ready for readers to enjoy in the SDSU Love Library 4th floor children's book collection, I know we can all be proud of this collection and those whose love and care continue to make it grow and thrive. It serves children, their parents, teachers, librarians, scholars and historians. New book purchases for the collection are made possible by the generosity of author and teacher Judith Pinkerton Josephson through the Josephson Family Endowment.

At the heart of the SDSU children’s collection is the personal library collection of children’s books of Dr. Peter F. Neumeyer, children’s author, scholar, and founder of the children’s literature program at San Diego State University. Neumeyer's collection offers titles that delight readers and that are also essential for gaining an understanding of the history of children’s literature. To find these gems, search the library catalog for Peter F. Neumeyer.  Edward Gorey art adorns a custom bookplate that reads The Peter and Helen Neumeyer Collection on each of these books. For more on this bright light in San Diego State’s children’s literature history, listen to and read Dr. Neumeyer’s oral history at http://library.sdsu.edu/scua/sdsu-oral-histories/neumeyer

Dr. Alida Allison who I mentioned earler is responsible for about 2,500 of the newest books in the SDSU Library Children’s Collection through her book reviewing service donations from the Children's Literature Program in the Department of English and Comparative Literature. 

The library’s special collections is also home to wonderful historical children’s literature collections. For example, in the library’s Edward Gorey Personal Library collection, there are at least 4,000 books of historical children’s literature.

Keep an eye out for many exhibits of these wonderful books from these collections throughout the year. 

Happy reading!

 

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



Coretta Scott King Book Award turns 50!
The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
Is that Book Signed? Illustrators' Drawings as Inscription
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takeo Takei and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Instagram
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.