Skip to main content
sdsu logo

Children's Literature

Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials

by Linda Salem on 2016-12-15T16:22:00-08:00 in Illustration | Comments

Interested in resources on the natural history of color in the SDSU library? You might enjoy the hand-colored prints of Benjamin  Waterhouse Hawkins' (1807-1894). His lush prints from The Graphic Illustration of Animals Shewing their utility to men in their employments during life and uses after death published by Thomas Varty include "The Cochineal & Lac Insects" c. 1850 and Hawkins' "The Silk-Worm" c. 1868. These show people using cochineal insects to make red carmine dye, using lac insects to make lac resin and varnish, and growing and using silkworms and plants to make and dye silk.

Thumbnail

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image preview

The Cochineal & Lac Insects                           The Silk-Worm

These works are part of an illustrated scientific materials collection, the Calvert E. Norland Collection of Natural History Materials Norland, an entomologist donated over 2,700 illustrated volumes, manuscripts, hand-colored and other prints. These include Audubon's Quadrupeds of North America, Thomas Bewick's Birds: Watercoulours and Engravings, as well as works about the history of orchids, ornithology, and entomology.

Image preview

In the tradition of scientific materials illustration Norland's collection includes whole sheets of hand-colored figures of beetles and insects. And so, this collection documents how we make color from insects so we can make insects from color.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As a study of bug illustration over one century (1750-1850), compare hand-colored beetle and insect illustrations to the black and white varied insect illustrations published in the classic Volume VI. of L'Encyclopedie de Diderot et D/Alembert (1759) and pictured below.

 

Access SDSU illustrated scientific materials and insects in the Norland Collection and in Diderot's Encyclopedia by searching Special Collections Finding Aid for Norland or stop by special collections and ask to see Diderot's Encyclopedia.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image preview

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for reading..

LS


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
Is that Book Signed? Illustrators' Drawings as Inscription
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takei Takeo and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.