Skip to main content

Children's Literature

Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children

by Linda Salem on 2017-05-25T14:14:00-07:00 | Comments

Pictured first is the ukiyo-e Japanese color print titled Cauldron Dance at Ninnaji by Yoshitoshi, a nice example of how western children's literature illustration owes influence to Japanese color prints, (e.g. the work of Walter Crane and Aubrey Beardsley). This post is dedicated to the 1Cauldron Dance at Ninnaji by Yoshitoshi7th century Japanese, ukiyo-e school artists who made original designs for woodblocks to use to mass produce colorful, popular prints. In Ellis Tinios' gorgeous volume Japanese Prints. Ukiyo-e in Edo, 1700-1900 (2010), the author defines ukiyo-e as ‘picture’ (e) of the floating world’ (ukiyo), a Buddhist expression meaning transient world of sorrows from which to seek release, but later meaning earthly pleasures of Edo (Old Tokyo), Japan. There are two sizes of prints, large oban and narrow hasoban, and four main print subjects, actors, alluring women, landscapes, and warriors, according to Tinios.  The British Museum has collected these prints since 1851, and now makes them accessible online at at www.britishmusuem.org. Check out these images from the ukioy-e collection in The British Museum.

In this print, the artist recognizes the educational value of picture books to children. 

It is titled Chinese Children Learn about Japan from Looking at Picture Books, Games, by Torii Kiyonaga.

Artist Miyagawa Shuntei's images of children use both bright flat colors and graceful, pale nature hues characteristic of the Japanese color print.  The Shuntei prints below are on the left Pine-Cone Gourd Game, Scenes from Childhood and on the right  Botanical Gardens - Famous Places in Tokyo

 

Here's hoping you enjoyed this post. In the next post, I discover elements of Japanese color prints in western illustrations for children. 

 

 

 

Works Cited

Tinios, Ellis. Japanese Prints. Ukiyo-e in Edo, 1700-1900. The Trustees of the British Museum, Lund Humphries/Ashgate Publishing. 2010

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



Students Review Día de los Muertos Children's Books in ENGL727 Chicanx Children's Literature Taught by Professor Phil Serrato
Coretta Scott King Book Award turns 50!
The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takeo Takei and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Instagram
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.