Skip to main content
sdsu logo

Children's Literature

Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination

by Linda Salem on 2017-05-24T11:44:00-07:00 | Comments

Letterpress relief printing, used to reproduce fairytale illustrations for 19th century and early 20th century books, refers to “any printing process by which the printing ink is transferred to paper, etc., from areas that are higher than the rest of the block, as letterpress printing" (Butler, 2013). Illumination printing refers to "Printed or hand applied decoration in different  colour of initial letter, chapter heads, tail pieces, vignettes, etc." (Elsevier, 1967). In this post, we examine these techniques in The Talking Thrush and Other Tales from India (Crooke, W. and Rouse, W.H.D. 1899;1922; SDSU Juvenile Collection Call number 398 R863 T14) by W.H. Robinson. These effects are emulated Chris Riddell's 2016 illustrations for Sleeper and the Spindle

For example, Robinson's bordered index illustrations like "The Camel's Neck" align with, frame and overhang the text, and his illustrations break out of the frame for a three dimensional illusion.

 

 

 

Bordered, single- page image spreads offer tangible sunken and raised dimensionality created by relief

 

 

 

printing through a press, including color lettering from a second pass through the press.  

 

Borderless portraits of central characters have the same relief texture illuminated script captions in white space are classic design techniques from Robinson and his contemporaries.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Robinson begins chapters with large vined initial letters and Riddell also begins 

Sleeper and the Spindle pages with these large vined initials to each page. 

 

 


Works Cited

"Relief printing." The Macquarie Dictionary, edited by Susan Butler, Macquarie Dictionary Publishers, 6th edition, 2013. Credo Reference, http://libproxy.sdsu.edu/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/macqdict/relief/0?institutionId=1591. Accessed 17 May 2017. 

"Illumination." The Dictionary of the Printing and Allied Industries:in four languages English, French,German, Dutch (New York: Elsevier, 1967).

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
Is that Book Signed? Illustrators' Drawings as Inscription
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takei Takeo and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.